Sunday, 13 September 2009

Wat Arun

Wat Arun is a Buddhist temple (wat) in the Bangkok Yai district of Bangkok, Thailand, on the west bank of the Chao Phraya River. The full name of the temple is Wat Arunratchawararam Ratchaworamahawihan


The outstanding feature of Wat Arun is its central prang (Khmer-style tower). It may be named "Temple of the Dawn" because the first light of morning reflects off the surface of the temple with a pearly iridescence. Steep steps lead to the two terraces. The height is reported by different sources as between 66,80 m and 86 m. The corners are surrounded by 4 smaller satellite prangs. The prangs are decorated by seashells and bits of porcelain which had previously been used as ballast by boats coming to Bangkok from China.

The central prang is topped with a seven-pronged trident, referred to by many sources as the "trident of Shiva".

Around the base of the prangs are various figures of ancient Chinese soldiers and animals. Over the second terrace are four statues of the Hindu god Indra riding on Erawan.

At the riverside are 6 pavilions in Chinese style. The pavilions are made of green granite and contain landing bridges.

Next to the prangs is the Ordination Hall with the Niramitr Buddha image supposedly designed by King Rama II. The front entrance of the Ordination Hall has a roof with a central spire, decorated in coloured ceramic and stuccowork sheated in coloured china. There are 2 demons, or temple guardian figures in front.

Important destinations. Thailand Post has brought in included Amazing Thailand (2nd Seiries) Postage Stamps - Saneh Bangkok.

Special Thank : Picture By :

Wat Phra Si Rattanasatsadaram

Wat Phra Si Rattanasatsadaram, which was commonly called the Temple of the Emerald Buddha set in the reign of King Rama I, founder of the Chakri Dynasty, the Rattanakosin (Bangkok), built as the capital of Spain in 1782.

The new church was completed in AD 1784th This royal chapel is a dedicated connection in the Grand Hall of Wat Phra Si Sanphet in the ancient capital of Ayutthaya. It is the most revered temples in the city, but the Capilla Real monks do not live there. It serves as a center of all religious rites related to the state and the monarchy, as gen Ordina under royal patronage, the history of the church, special rites and take the oath of allegiance.
King Rama I brought the image of the Emerald Buddha, which is regarded by the people of Thailand as palladium, Argentina, from the palace in the ancient capital of Thon Buri, west of the river Chao Phraya, in the main hall of the new building of the Chapel Royal, where he has remained since.
Throughout its history two hundred years has undergone several renovations of the chapel, restorations and additions to their buildings. Other construction and renovations have taken place during the reign of King Rama III (1824-1851 AD) and King Rama IV, AD 1851-1868). Just in time for anniversary celebrations in Bangkok in 1882. The royal chapel is therefore not less than two centuries of know-how and ingenuity Rattanakosin art are in themselves an expression of the fundamental unity of Thai people.

Special Thank :

Thai Fish Fighting

Everyone is very excited, two small fish of the middle finger of his fins and minus signs bristles regarded as courageous fighters against each other. They are among the fierce and warlike kind of fish in the world: the fight against fish in Thailand.

As the fighting cocks, a fighting sport fish from Thailand. Currently, there are still fishing are fighting on the ground and in the suburbs of Bangkok, as there is no fighting allowed to fish within the city.

When the fight was agreed, the fish will be chosen on their bottles and are stored carefully in a large bottle of considerable size. Face to face opponents are transformed into magnificent creatures, the color deepening and widening shook their gills, fins and tail lies and adopting a warm light. Each body part is alive. They lose no time to time, biting hard and cruel. Meeting with the mouth closed for a few minutes, sometimes hours, and water in bottles for offices. Parts of the gills, fins, control tailsmortal, supporters are betting that their culculations the number and severity of injuries received by both parties.

Thai fish fighting attractive colors. They also have some characteristics of them and the knowledge of farmers keep only those who developed urgently, these good points. They are well maintained. The fights are few fish raised in their natural habitat, but is now for sale. The lukmoh is a tough guy who does not know the meaning of defeat. PAH abundant fish fighting everywhere, even in the channel has a longer body and has no resistance to a prolonged battle. In general, Thai fighting fish is not more than 5 cm long and one centimeter wide. If they are caught, they should go into a bottle of water from the pond. Only fighting men. The woman is distinguished by its lighter color, the much larger tail and fins. Curiously, the female after laying eggs, they try to eat, and is prevented only by the male to do so. The female should be isolated, therefore, while the males care for the left to the next generation. Small fish feed on plankton and small later, the red mosquito larvae. They are ready to fight after six or seven months.

Special Thank : Picture By :

Ratchadamnoen Avenue

Ratchadamnoen Avenue Ratchadamnoen: the right approach, the connections between the Grand Palace and Dusit Palace. There are three parts:

• Ratchadamnoen Nai or inner journey, beginning with the Grand Palace is located on Sanam Luang to sound Ratchadamnoen.

• The Ratchadamnoen, Central Avenue was in the middle or how comprehensive the time, was built during the reign of King Rama V (1868-1910) Ratchadamnoen Links Ratchadamnoen Nok and Nai. Started in Mount Gold Sanamluang. Monument of Democracy is the remarkable point in its Ratchadamnoen.

• Ratchadamnoen Nok road, or outside, near the Dusit Palace, went to Monte Oro to straighten the Ananta Samakhom Throne Hall. Today Ratchadamnoen Avenue is the central government administration. Most departments are in this country, the organization

Special Thank : Picture By : Amazing-Thailand-Postage-Stamps-Collections

Chatuchak weekend market

Bangkok Chatuchak market offers a variety of products such as household goods, clothing, Thai handicrafts, religious artifacts, collectibles, food and live animals.

Bangkok Chatuchak Weekend Market is the largest market in Thailand, the world's largest and most often that JJ, for more than 35 hectares (containing 1.13 kilometers ²) and more than 5,000 jobs. It is estimated that [the market between 200,000 and 300,000 unique visitors per day, most vacancies are only on Saturdays and Sundays.

Chatuchak Market has its origin in Plaek quart Phibulsongkram, former Prime Minister of Thailand (1938-1944, 1948-1957), conceived the idea of a flea market in each city. Due to the flea market first Bangkok Sanam Luang and was considered the flea market Sanam Luang.

However, there were times when the site was needed for other special functions and the flea market was then transferred Saranrom Palace, and then to 8 years. Then it was again postponed Sanam Chai. But for reasons of space, had to return to Sanam Luang postponed. In the same year the government announced a policy of Sanam Luang into a public park for citizens of Bangkok and is the place to celebrate 200 years anniversary of Bangkok in 1982 instead. It was decided that the market is in the range Phahonyothin then held and later named after the park near the Chatuchak Market with the same name.

In recent years, the market has considerable respect among environmentalists and the World Wildlife Fund won, Chatuchak has become known as a center for illegal trade in endangered species. This activity has decreased over the world "on CNN in Peril" series. Despite the publicity, the Thai law is rarely able to follow a course of action to prevent illicit trade.

Special Thank : Picture By : Amazing-Thailand-Postage-Stamps-StampsVideo

Chao Phraya River

Thailand's Main. It flows south through the country's fertile central plain for more than 225 miles (365 km) to the Gulf of Thailand. The capital of Thailand, past and present (Bangkok), were placed on the bank or those of its tributaries and tributaries, like many other cities.

The Chao Phraya River, is a useful way to reflect the nation's traditional exports of teak and rice south of Bangkok, commodities, but leaner now induced overland by truck or rail. For centuries, the Thais have made use of the Chao Phraya River, and in certain channel (Khlong) system, drainage, recreation and fishing, as well as a source of water.

The sources of the River Ping, Wang, Yom and Nan rivers originate in the mountains of northern Thailand. In Nakhon Sawan, begins 140 km north of Bangkok, the Main and the confluence of the Ping-Nan. Its tortuous course flows past Chai Nat (site of a dam on the government and the irrigation system), Sing Buri, Ang Thong, Nonthaburi, and Bangkok to its mouth at Samut Prakan. Since its founding in Nakhon Sawan, the river falls below 80 feet (24 meters) on his journey to the sea.

The Chao Phraya system drains 61,807 square miles (160,079 km ²) and is the base for several large irrigation projects. The catchment area is low, the whole arm of the Gulf of Thailand, which is scarred by numerous tributaries. About Chai Nat, a branch of the river arms Nakhon Chai Si-west and parallel to the flow of the mother to the Gulf of Samut Sakhon, 25 miles (40 km) west of the main mouth. The main stream divides and meets several times. Chai Nat under the branches of the Noi River in the west and flows into the Chao Phraya river in Sam Khok. The Lop Buri river arms in the east and before returning to the main flow passes through the cities of Lop Buri and Ayutthaya, the latter receives a large tributary of the East Pa Sak river from the mountains in the northeast of Phetchabun.

Tides run along the meandering Chao Phraya to Ayutthaya. The delta plain around Bangkok is rarely more than 7 feet (2 meters) above sea level, floods and landslides collects annually rich rice fields. In the delta of the Chao Phraya River, the Mae Klong in the West, and Bang Pakong in the East are connected by a network of canals.

The course of 25 miles below Bangkok is lined with docks and port facilities. The mouth of the deep water channel requires frequent dredging and can not accommodate large ships of 10,000 tons.

Special Thank : Picture By : 3

Video By:

Stamps mark 200 years of letterboxes

The brands, which today is operated by the Royal Mail four different types of The stamps, since the original Wakefield are hung on the walls or in

Two hundred years of history mailbox is marked today with the theme of a series of four new postage stamps. The oldest field is believed that was the first official collection point in Britain, on the wall hung a post office in Wakefield in 1809.

The 1st Class Stamp released today shows a model from the reign of George V in London by WT Allen & Co occupation from 1933 to 1936, he notes, in use, Cookham Rise, near Maidenhead, Berkshire. Boxes of the date of the grandfather are the Queen, after the allotments under the auspices of the current monarch, the most numerous.

The table with the data 56p stamp of the first decade of the 20th Century and the reign of Edward VII with white enamel plaque on the front, is one of the best known of the rarest varieties mailbox. Ludlow is well known, according to James Ludlow and Sons, the company that some of the first of its kind is made of the case, the example of the stamp 56p Bodiam, East Sussex.

81p bears the stamp of the oldest of the four fields of the sample, and it is rare, if they intend on a wall of their designers that they should be attached to a lamppost are fitted. Table 1896 - one of 300 different models introduced in the last 200 years - is the figure of Queen Victoria and comes from near Hythe, Kent. The 90p stamp shows a picture of Elizabeth II in 1962 or 1963, and in Slaithwaite, near Huddersfield.

There are about 114,000 post boxes in use in Britain. The brands, which now show by the Royal Mail four different types, like the original Wakefield, or hung on the walls. Pillar and other varieties of telegraph poles or posts, not shown, attached. Not represented, are also rare British mailboxes from the reign of Edward VIII, who abdicated Shortly after his accession in 1936. Also omitted is an example that brings the encryption system elegantly curved his brother George VI.

The use of wall boxes, as a cheaper alternative to the fields in the column, when added to standard designs, the models introduced began to appear after 1857th Installing a new wall mailboxes no longer in the year 1980, with most smaller banks will be placed on the black poles.

Special Thank :
Picture By :
Related Posts with Thumbnails

STAMP TRAVEL Copyright © 2008 Black Brown Pop Template designed by Ipiet's Blogger Template